Storymap by Kris Drever and Éamonn Coyne

Kris Drever and Éamonn Coyne

Storymap by Kris Drever and Éamonn Coyne

Singer-songwriter Kris Drever of Lau and banjo and tenor guitar player Éamonn Coyne will release an album together in the new year. A combination of traditional songs and instrumentals, Storymap (Reveal Records) also features Eliza Carthy, Simon Bradley, Megan Henderson, Calum McIntyre, Nico Bruce, Eamonn Nugent and Alan Kelly.

Listen below to a preview track, ‘Farewell to Stromness’, which includes Carthy on backing vocals.

According to the album notes, the song was collected by the Orkney Song Project. When whalers left the town of Stromness in Orkney (after stocking up on water), ‘the pubs of the town would empty and the drinkers would fill the bay with this song as they waved goodbye to their visitors.’

For more information, visit

Published on 18 December 2012

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.