Keith Pascoe, violin / Brian MacNamara, piano

Sunday, 17 November 2013, 4.00pm

Keith Pascoe violin
Brian MacNamara piano

Mozart/Beethoven Sonatas 
L. van Beethoven         Sonata Op. 30 No. 1 in A 

W.A. Mozart              Sonata KV 378 in B flat
W.A. Mozart              Sonata KV 379 in G
L. van Beethoven         Sonata Op. 12 No. 1 in D 

Changing Perspectives:  This is Concert 5 in the planned seven-concert series devoted to the piano and violin sonatas of Mozart and Beethoven.  In the series violinist Keith Pascoe (of the RTÉ Vanbrugh String Quartet) and pianist Brian MacNamara present a rarely performed cycle featuring all twenty-seven sonatas - the seventeen sonatas of Mozart and ten for piano and violin by Beethoven.  While the Mozart works demonstrate a unique gift of inspiration  and are among his finest compositions, the Beethoven set are fascinating in terms of how he developed this format for piano and violin.  We believe this is the first time

the performance  of a complete cycle of these works has been attempted  in Ireland, a tour de force for the performers juxtaposing two mammoth bodies of work.

Funded by the Arts Council.                          


Published on 16 September 2013

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.