The Bartok Project No 6 Bartok/Haydn/Séan Clancy

The Bartok Project No 6 Bartok/Haydn/Séan Clancy

Thursday, 23 March 2017, 8.00pm

HAYDN Quartet Op. 76, No. 6 in E flat (24’)

SÉAN CLANCY Four lines of Music Slow Down and Eventually Stop (new RTÉ commission)

BARTÓK Quartet No. 6 (28’)

The six quartets of Béla Bartók written between 1908 and 1939 form the cornerstone of RTÉ Contempo Quartet’s 2016-17 season, complemented by the superb Op 76 quartets 1-6  by Haydn and six works by contemporary Irish composers,  including four new RTÉ commissions which receive their premieres during the series.

Bartók wrote his first quartet aged 27 reflecting on his unrequited love for violinist Stefi Geyer, the music full of passionate intensity and romance. In contrast, Haydn was 65 when he completed his Op 76, published in 1799 and dedicated to Count Joseph Erdödy. His last complete set , the six quartets are widely regarded as his finest and Op 76 no1 looks firmly forward to Beethoven yet retains Haydn’s optimistic personality and musical trademarks.

The programme features a performance of a new work by Irish Composer Séan Clancy.

Published on 21 February 2017

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.