Music & Musings with Rhona Clarke

Music & Musings with Rhona Clarke

Thursday, 8 November 2018, 8.30pm

The Galway Music Residency is delighted to announce its autumn 2018 series of Music & Musings in association with the Contemporary Music Centre. This series of concerts featuring the Galway ConTempo Quartet, emerging and established composers from Ireland and guest artists, begins on Thursday November 8th at 8.30pm in The Mick Lally Theatre. The series, presented in an intimate setting, breaks down the barriers too often associated with new music, and offers opportunities to discuss the works presented.

The first concert in the series will feature the Galway premiere of a new work by Aosdána member Rhona Clarke entitled 'Edge', commissioned by Music Network in 2017. This will be paired with another work by Clarke composed for ConTempo Quartet almost ten years ago entitled Pas de Quatre. Discussions about the works, the performance and everything in between will be chaired by Linda O'Shea Farren of the Contemporary Music Centre, with audience participation welcome.

This concert will be dedicated to the memory of former Galway Music Residency Board Member and patron of the arts, Chris Coughlan who sadly passed away earlier this year. General Manager Maeve Bryan said “Chris is very much missed by all of us at GMR and we are so grateful to his wife Joan and his children Sean, Sinead and Colum, who have worked with us over the past few months on this tribute to Chris. We are honoured to be able to celebrate his life on 8th November in the most meaningful way we know how – through music”.

Tickets: €15/€10 from Ticketsolve.


Published on 25 October 2018

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.