Elizabeth Cooney and Friends – String Sextet

Elizabeth Cooney and Friends – String Sextet

Friday, 19 May 2017, 8.00pm

Elizabeth Cooney and Mairéad Hickey, violins

Simon Aspell and Ruth Gibson, violas 

Guy Johnston and Brian O’Kane, cellos

Between 16 and 21 May a concert of string sextets by Tchaikovsky and Brahms will tour to Waterford, Cork, Galway, Sligo, Navan and Dublin.  To perform two magnificent works for string sextet Cork born violinist Elizabeth Cooney will be joined by an exciting array of musicians from Ireland and the UK:  violinist Mairéad Hickey, international prize winner now studying at the Kronberg Academy; violists Simon Aspell of the Vanbrugh Quartet and Ruth Gibson of Ensemble 360;  and cellists Brian O’Kane of the Navarra Quartet and Guy Johnston of the Aronowitz Ensemble and winner of BBC Young Musician and Brit Awards.  The Italian lyricism and Russian virtuosity of ‘Tchaikovsky’s ‘Souvenir de Florence’ for String Sextet will be followed by Brahms’ Sextet No.1 in B flat, Op.18, one of the best loved works in the chamber music repertoire which is both reflective and exuberant in character.   Concerts are promoted by Waterford-Music on Tuesday 16th, Cork Orchestral Society on Wednesday, Music for Galway on Thursday, Con-Brio Sligo on Friday, the Solstice Arts Centre Navan on Saturday and lastly the [email protected] series in Dublin City Gallery – The Hugh Lane.

 The tour is funded by an Arts Council Touring Award.  


Published on 27 April 2017

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.