Free State #10

Free State #10

Friday, 5 May 2017, 8.30pm

Be the first to hear what’s happening in new music in Ireland.

Crash Ensemble and The National Concert Hall present Free State 10, the most vibrant music from Ireland’s up and coming composing talent, performed by the county’s leading new music group.

FREE STATE #10 is a very fine selection of works by up and coming composers chosen by the players of the ensemble from an anonymous open call. It’s brilliant for us to hear the work of composers at the very start of their careers and fascinating to see how new music from Ireland is evolving and developing. Kate Ellis, Crash Artistic Director

2017’s concert was selected from anonymous open submission from Irish by the members of Crash Ensemble.

See where new music is at, check out Free State 10.

Donal Sarsfield: The Snare Piece
Robert Coleman: In Fervorous Frenzy
Daniel McDermott: A Mathematician’s Apology
Timothy Doyle: Veneer
Eric Skytterholm Egan: Fragments | of Shapes | Hewn | in White | Silence
Finola Merivale: Emma Are Eye 

Crash Ensemble: Susan Doyle (Flute), Deirdre O’Leary (Clarinet), Colm O’Hara (Trombone), Isabelle O’Connell (Piano), John Godfrey (Electric Guitar), Alex Petcu (Percussion), Mairead Hickey (Violin), Lisa Dowdall (Viola), Kate Ellis (Cello), Malachy Robinson (Double Bass), Camin Gilmore (Double Bass)

Conductor:  David Brophy

For more, visit


Published on 28 April 2017

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.