Mr Handel at the Keyboard @ Kilkenny Arts Festival

Mr Handel at the Keyboard @ Kilkenny Arts Festival

Monday, 14 August 2017, 8.00pm

Mr Handel’s Adventures in Ireland

Handel was a brilliant keyboard performer and his compositions for harpsichord were varied and surprising. In the second of three concerts celebrating the 275th anniversary of Handel’s Irish adventure, Philippe Grisvard performs a broad selection of pieces by Handel and his contemporaries, including Irish composer Thomas Roseingrave, as well as Friedrich Zachow and William Babell, whose works helped Handel to develop his style.

In recent years the Long Gallery – one of Ireland’s most magnificent rooms - has played host to some of the most memorable keyboard concerts at the Festival, and this concert, featuring some of Handel’s most celebrated pieces – including the exquisite Lascia ch’io pianga– promises to be no exception.

Since graduating from the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, Philippe Grisvard has established himself as one of the leading harpsichordists in Europe. In 2002 he joined La Cetra Barockorchester in Basel, performing under the direction of leading conductors such as René Jacobs and Jordi Savall. Now harpsichordist with Harmonie Universelle, he tours Europe and the US, while performing regularly with a range of other orchestras and ensembles, including the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and Le Poème Harmonique.

For further details, visit


WILLIAM BABELL – Prelude in F major

GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL –  Ouverture to Rinaldo in F major (arr. W. Babel)

FRIEDRICH ZACHOW – Capriccio in D minor 

DOMENICO SCARLATTI – Fuga (allegro) in D minor

FERDINANDO DE MEDICI – Passacaglia in G minor

JOHANN KERLL – Capriccio sopra il cucu in G major

WILLIAM BABELL – Prelude in G major

GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL – Chaconne in A minor, HWV609

                                                        Sonatina in A minor, HWV584

ALESSANDRO SCARLATTI – Toccata & Fuga in A minor 

THOMAS ROSEINGRAVE – Air – vivace in F minor 

GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL – Suite no. 2 in F major, HWV427

                                                         Lascia ch’io pianga in F major (arr. W. Babell)

                                                         Allegro (Anhang to HWV427)

Duration: 80 mins approx. (without interval)


Published on 31 May 2017

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, reviews and articles.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.