Writing on Music – The Future’s Rosy!

Barney Hoskyns of Rock’s Backpages, with George Wilde, winner of the Wilko Johnson Music Writing Award in 2017.

Writing on Music – The Future’s Rosy!

2018 Wilko Johnson Music Writing Award now open for applications.

The Louder Than Words music literary festival – which takes place in Manchester in November – is currently seeking submissions for the 2018 Wilko Johnson Music Writing Award.

The award – named after the English musician, actor  and author of Don’t You Leave Me Here – is seeking 350-word submissions titled ‘Writing on Music – the future’s rosy!’ Writers must be aged 25 or under on 11 November 2018. The winning entry will be published on the websites Rock’s Backpages and Louder Than War, and the winner will receive a festival pass and a collection of music books. All winners (1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes) will receive free entry to the award event on 11 November.

Last year’s winner was George Wilde, a graduate of the Popular Music Journalism course at Southampton Solent University.

Louder Than Words takes place on 9–11 November at the Principal Hotel, Manchester. This year’s speakers include Eliza Carthy, Ian Clayton, Guy Pratt, Nick Soulsby, Sheila Rock, Roisin Dwyer, Leslie Tate, Stuart Bailie, Ian Rankin, Zoë Howe and Gemma Cairney.

For more, visit https://louderthanwordsfest.com.

Published on 27 August 2018

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.