Contemporary Music Release News This Week

Cover art from Ed Bennett’s Togetherness

Contemporary Music Release News This Week

A round-up of recent contemporary music releases.

This week: Ed Bennett and Decibel; Roger Doyle opera; the latest compilation from the Contemporary Music Centre; a new compilation of electro-acoustic music from Ireland; plus Brian Irvine and Jennifer Walshe.

Each week The Journal of Music will be compiling news on new and recent releases in contemporary, classical, jazz, traditional music and more. Please send details of new releases to editor [at]

Ed Bennett/Decibel: Togetherness
Diatribe Records

Just released on Diatribe Records, Togetherness is a portrait album of composer Ed Bennett and his ten-piece ensemble Decibel; features the eponymous work, a cover of the Stiff Little Fingers song ‘Suspect Device’, and the 2013 work Heavy Western with violin soloist Barbara Lüneburg.


Roger Doyle: Heresy, an electronic opera
Heresy Records
Roger Doyle, Robert Crowe, Caitríona O’Leary, Daire Halpin, Morgan Crowley and Aimee Banks.

Based on the life and work of heretic Giordano Bruno, the first opera by composer Roger Doyle was released on Heresy Records last month. The work – also called Heresy – was premiered in 2016 as part of the 50th-anniversary celebrations of the Project Arts Centre and directed by Eric Fraad.


Various Artists: A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland
Heresy Records

Also released by Heresy, A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland is a sequel to the 2013 compilation album On the Nature of Electricity & Acoustics. A Map… is a new overview of the electro-acoustic scene in Ireland, including music by Daniel Figgis, Roger Doyle, Deep Burial and more.


Various Artists: new music::new Ireland
Contemporary Music Centre

Released last month, this is the third album in CMC’s promotional series and features music by a range of Irish composers, including Ailís Ní Ríain, Garth Knox, Siobhán Cleary, Ann Cleare and more. The album was launched with two events in London, including an Irish-music showcase at Café OTO.


Brian Irvine/Jennifer Walshe: 13 Vices
Brian Irvine, Jennifer Walshe, Paul Rogers, Mark Sanders, Red Note Ensemble

Released last November on NMC, but worth noting here as Irvine and Walshe were nominated for a British Composer Award for the work. 13 Vices is a collaborative work by the two composers, written for ensemble, improvisers, conductor and voice and premiered in Belfast in April 2015, then toured across Ireland and to London and Aberdeen. 13 Vices was commissioned by Moving on Music.


In other news, in April Ergodos will be releasing a new album by Seán MacErlaine, and NMC will be releasing an album by Andrew Hamilton. More information to follow on release. Please send all details on new releases to editor [at]

Published on 14 March 2018

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.