Vanbrugh & Friends in Baltimore

Vanbrugh & Friends in Baltimore

Sunday, 24 March 2024, 3.00pm
Added by nsqf

The Vanbrugh & Friends
Keith Pascoe, violin
Marja Gaynor, violin
Simon Aspell, viola
Ed Creedon, viola
Christopher Marwood, cello
Maria O'Connor, cello

Beethoven - String Quintet in E flat major Op.4 [1795]
Brahms - String sextet in G major Op.36 [1865]

The Vanbrugh and their guests present two fine and highly contrasted works from the extended chamber music repertoire. Beethoven’s early string quintet Op.4 is his own re-working of his wind octet written in Vienna in 1793 where there was great demand for light-hearted wind band music. The arrangement for strings offers an attractive and elegant lightness of touch. In contrast, Brahms’ extraordinary G major sextet is the work of a composer at the peak of his powers, its mood ranging from the restrained beauty of the opening bars to the boisterous party music in the scherzo and the relaxed playfulness of the finale. The 32-year-old composer wrote it in idyllic surroundings near Baden-Baden, Germany and it was premiered in Boston, Massachusetts in 1866.

Supported by Cork County Council, the Arts Councils and RTÉ Lyric FM

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Added by nsqf on 1 January 2024

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.