'Ink Still Wet 3'

'Ink Still Wet 3'

Friday, 31 January 2020, 7.30pm

A fantastic opportunity to hear new and recent works written specifically for Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble.

This concert reflects HRSE’s continued commitment to generating new repertoire and offering fresh opportunities to our composers. We are delighted to present two works here, by composers Richard McReynolds and Alan Perrin, which were commissioned as part of our PRSf Talent Development Partnership. Additionally, two of Ireland’s most distinguished composers, Jane O’Leary and John Buckley are included, both of whom were recipients of our 2019/20 HRSE commissioning scheme, funded by ACNI Small Grants.

Kevin Terry and Chris McCann, two composers who emerged as finalists in our 4th Peter Rosser Composition Award, are showcased again, and we are delighted to include a solo cello work by the late Daniel Barkley, which was premiered by our ensemble’s cellist, Dave McCann, for whom it was written in 2016. Completing this collection of works that have been written exclusively for the ensemble is a new work by the Iraqi composer Abdullah Jamal Ashraf, previously a doctoral composition student at QUB.

Join us for a pre-concert talk in the SARC Multimedia Room at 6.45 pm.

'Yoshiya' (2019)*** World Premiere, Abdullah Jamal Ashraf (1968), flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello & piano

'Cadenzas From An Invisible Concerto' (2016)***, Daniel Barkley (1989), solo cello

'Follower' (2019)** World Premiere, Richard McReynolds (1987), clarinet, violin & violoncello

'Dancing Light' (2019)***, Chris McCann (1989), Flash, Dimmer, Flicker, Pulse (2019 Peter Rosser Award Finalist), alto flute (picc.), clarinet (bs cl), violin, violoncello & piano

'Beneath the Dark Blue Waves' (2019)* World Premiere, Jane O'Leary (1946), flute, bass clarinet, violin, violoncello & piano

'From Nothing, To Something, Through Everything' (2019)** World Premiere, Alan Perrin (1990), flute & violin

'Quipu' (2019 Peter Rosser Award Finalist) (2019)***, Kevin Terry (1988), alto flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello & piano

'Three Mobiles After Alexander Calder' (2019)* World Premiere, John Buckley (1951), flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello & piano

*Commissioned by Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble with funds from ACNI Small Grants Award

**Commissioned by Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble with funds from PRSf Talent Development Partnership

***Written especially for HRSE


General Admission: £10

Unwaged: £5

Students and staff of QUB's Music Department: Free admission



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.