RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra: Schnelzer, Tchaikovsky, Berlioz

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra: Schnelzer, Tchaikovsky, Berlioz

Friday, 6 December 2019, 7.30pm

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Ellinor D’Melon violin

Schnelzer Burn My Letters: Remembering Clara IRISH PREMIERE / 12’
Co-commission from Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Gävle Symphony Orchestra and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto / 33’
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique / 49’

A melody-filled, ripely emotional Russian concerto, a brilliantly kaleidoscopic French orchestral showpiece and the Irish premiere of a touching new work by a modern Swedish master provide an evening of richly satisfying contrasts to engage and excite both head and heart.

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Chief Conductor Jaime Martín joins with the ‘unique and flawless, simply fantastic’ (Heimat Report) violinist Ellinor D’Melon for Tchaikovsky’s sumptuous, heart-on-sleeve Violin Concerto.

Tempestuous, tortured and thrilling, Tchaikovsky’s only violin concerto is a veritable ballet in sound, violin and orchestra bound together with his stunning sense of intermingled rhapsody and drama. Pulse-quickening and heart-stopping in its often raw poetry, its virtuosic demands on the soloist are the musical equivalent of a high-wire act of gymnastic daring and eloquence.

Close your eyes, tune in, turn on and surrender yourself to the uniquely involving soundworld of Berlioz’s shattering, sensual Symphonie fantastique. An unmatched display of a symphony orchestra at full throttle, it changed the course and sound of orchestral music in its portrayal of a lovesick artist who seeks escape from heartache with the dubious help of opium. Intense and saturated with vivid, dreamlike images, it’s an eye-opening journey into the dark mysteries of desire.

Co-commissioned by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Albert Schnelzer’s Burn My Letters: Remembering Clara pays poignant tribute to a pioneering composer only now, in the 200th anniversary year of her birth, receiving deserved recognition: Clara Schumann.

Based on her letters to life-long family friend Johannes Brahms – Clara voiced by wild and free flute, Brahms by a more controlled and cautious bassoon – it’s an intriguing, enchanting, intimate and illuminating dialogue between the fellow composers.

Preceded at 6.30pm by Soundings free pre-concert talk with Jaime Martín, Ellinor D’Melon and Albert Schnelzer in conversation.

Presented by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.