The Vanbrugh & Friends in Youghal

The Vanbrugh & Friends in Youghal

Saturday, 11 February 2023, 2.00pm

The Vanbrugh & Friends

Keith Pascoe
Marja Gaynor
Simon Aspell
Ed Creedon
Christopher Marwood
Maria O’Connor

Beethoven - String Quintet Op.29 [1801]
Tchaikovsky - String Sextet ‘Souvenir de Florence’ [1892]

The Vanbrugh and their guests present two of the greats from the extended chamber music repertoire. Beethoven's Op.29 string quintet, nicknamed 'The Storm', was written in 1801, shortly after his Op.18 string quartets and combines his mastery of quartet writing with the expansive richness of texture offered by the addition of a second viola. Tchaikovsky's epic string sextet 'Souvenir de Florence' from 1892 adds a second cello into the mix and from the first bar the music pulsates with intensity and energy.

Supported by the Arts Council, RTE Lyric FM and Cork County Council

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by nsqf on 5 January 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.