The Vanbrugh & Friends

The Vanbrugh & Friends

Saturday, 5 February 2022, 8.00pm

The Vanbrugh & Friends
Keith Pascoe, violin
Marja Gaynor, violin
Simon Aspell, viola
Ed Creedon, viola
Christopher Marwood, cello

Wolfgang Mozart [1756-1791]
String Quintet in C major K.515 [1787]

Jean Françaix [1912-1997]
String Trio [1933]

Johannes Brahms [1833-1897]
String Quintet No.1 in F major Op.88 [1882]

The Vanbrugh and their guests present two of the greats from the string quintet repertoire, alongside Jean Françaix’s bewitching string trio. Adjectives have been heaped on Mozart’s C major quintet – effortless, elegant , sublime, majestic, joyful, bewitching… call it what you will, they are all testament to its timeless appeal. And then the Brahms F major quintet, written a century later is all of these things and more. Written in the summer of 1882, it was a work that Brahms was particularly fond of, and from the gorgeous opening melody, through the exquisite slow movement, to the high octane finale, it is easy to see why.

Tickets: €20/€18 Conc. + €1 Booking fee

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.