Irish Chamber Orchestra

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Thursday, 19 November 2020, 8.00pm


Irish Chamber Orchestra
Katherine Hunka, Director/Violin
Kevin Jansson Piano

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 13 in C major k. 415
Sam Perkin Pause
Shostakovich Chamber Symphony in C minor opus 110.a (String Quartet No.8, transcr. R. Barshai)

The Irish Chamber Orchestra under the leadership of Katherine Hunka puts the spotlight on Cork’s rising young talent. Twenty-year old Cork pianist Kevin Jansson is one of the finest musicians of his generation. He makes his debut with the ICO for Mozart’s dazzling Piano Concerto No. 13. This is music-making that radiates enjoyment, with splendidly alert orchestral playing.

Composer Sam Perkin, from Tivoli, is a long-time collaborator with ICO. He was 21 when he wrote Pause, a reflective arrangement of The Foggy Dew, inspired by 1916. It beautifully blends the sounds of a slowed-down violin with the orchestra. Finally, the 8th Quartet or Chamber Symphony is the most personal of Shostakovich’s great works, dedicated ‘to the memory of myself’. A gripping portrayal of the brutality of conflict, its jagged, dynamic rhythms contrast with elegiac outer movements that never fail to move the listener.

The concert will be available to tickets holders for 48 hours following the performance.
Tickets €10 exclusively from

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.