Schoenberg Revisited

Schoenberg Revisited

Friday, 17 June 2022, 7.30pm

Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble with Maiden Voyage Dance.

Our last collaboration with the wonderful Maiden Voyage Dance (MVD) was a great success with ensemble and dancers giving a pulsating performance of Reich’s Double Sextet to a full house at the Sonic Lab. We return to that very venue for our next collaboration with MVD, this time raising the challenge further, tackling Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No 1 Op. 9. This is not a piece of music that immediately shouts ‘dance’ at you, but in the hands of MVD we will be in for a new visual exploration of this great work.

Alongside the Schoenberg masterpiece we have a reprise of Jane O'Leary's Winter Reflections, which HRSE featured in its 2019 season. Two previously commissioned works appear in this programme too: Piers Hellawell's Ground Truthing and John Buckley's Three Mobiles after Alexander Calder, from our 2017/18 and 2018/19 Seasons respectively. Finally, if you missed the final of our 5th Peter Rosser Composition Awards, we have another chance to hear the winning work in this concert; Dark Measures by Anita Mawhinney.

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Added by Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble on 7 June 2022

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.