West Wicklow Festival 'Winter Weekend': Kristīne & Margarita Balanas

West Wicklow Festival 'Winter Weekend': Kristīne & Margarita Balanas

Saturday, 13 November 2021, 8.00pm

Kristīne Balanas (violin) & Margarita Balanas (cello)

Latvian sisters Kristīne and Margarita Balanas are two of the most exciting and versatile artists of their generation. Known for their distinguished artistry and mesmerising stage presence, they have dazzled audiences all over the world in venues such as Carnegie Hall, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Foundation Louis Vuitton, Royal Festival Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Philharmonie, Berlin.

Kristīne and Margarita have selected an alluring programme for their West Wicklow Festival performance. Including Bach’s famously visceral Cello Suite No. 1, Handel’s melodious Passacaglia, excerpts from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, Ravel’s stunning Sonata, and the Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks’ shimmering Castillo Interior, their performance will combine some of the most virtuosic and life-affirming works in the repertoire. We are especially delighted that the Balanas sisters will perform the world premiere of A Russborough Diversion, a new arrangement by Anne-Marie O Farrell, commissioned by the Festival.

“[A musician of] eye-popping virtuosity” The Times on Kristīne Balanas

“powerful, delicate, intense and brilliant” GLAM Adelaide on Margarita Balanas


J.S Bach

Prelude, Sarabande and Courante from Suite No.1 in G major for cello, BWV 1007

Preludio, Loure and Gavotte en Rondeau from Partita No.3 in E major for violin, BWV 1006

Pēteris Vasks Castillo Interior

Anne-Marie O Farrell A Russborough Diversion (newly arranged commission)

Ravel Sonata for violin and cello

Handel Passacaglia (arr J.Halvorsen)

Vivaldi ‘Summer’ from The Four Seasons


Balanas Sisters encore - Vivaldi Summer

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.