Éliane Radigue: “Trilogie de la Mort” | MaerzMusik 2021

Éliane Radigue: “Trilogie de la Mort” | MaerzMusik 2021

Monday, 22 March 2021, 8.00pm

3 hours of sound meditation

“Trilogie de la Mort" is considered to be one of the masterpieces of the French electronic music pioneer Éliane Radigue (born in 1932). This extended sonic meditation on death and birth was written between 1988 and 1993, inspired by the Buddhist “Bardo Thödröl” or “Tibetan Book of the Dead” – a milestone of minimalist music and “deep listening” that has been described as being both monumental and infinitely discrete at the same time.

The three-hour cycle will be realised in sound by François J. Bonnet aka Kassel Jaeger. To achieve this, the Franco-Swiss musician, composer and author will have 50 loudspeakers in the cupola of the Zeiss-Großplanetarium at his disposal as an acousmatic instrument. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the concert will be live streamed using binaural technology.

Binaural Audio-Livestream (headphones recommended!)

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.