Irish Chamber Orchestra: Shostakovich, Frost, & Glass

Irish Chamber Orchestra: Shostakovich, Frost, & Glass

Thursday, 15 April 2021, 8.00pm

Katherine Hunka, director/violin
Fiachra Garvey, piano
David Collins, trumpet

Shostakovich Concerto No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Trumpet and Strings, Op. 35
Paul Frost Trip
Philip Glass Symphony No. 3

Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is full of burlesque swagger and impish sardonic humour as the work unfolds into a climactic, carnival-atmosphere tumble. Fiachra Garvey performs this masterful example of eclecticism, its inscrutable humour and seriousness allied to virtuoso writing enhanced by the role for solo trumpet performed by David Collins.

Glass' Symphony No.3 is one of his most performed works. It is an exploration of tension and relaxation allowing listeners to lose themselves in familiar patterns and rhythms, while enjoying the soundscape that Glass creates.

In between we feature a world premiere of Trip a new commission by Paul Frost inspired by his own daily thought processes and the wandering mind. It is generously supported by the Arts Council.

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.