BBC Philharmonic: Mozart/Mark Simpson/Mahler

BBC Philharmonic: Mozart/Mark Simpson/Mahler

Saturday, 15 June 2019, 7.30pm

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Idomeneo (Overture)(24 mins)
Three arias and march

Mark Simpson
Clarinet Concerto(20 mins)
world premiere

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No 4 in G major(56 mins)

BBC Philharmonic

Ben Gernon

Mark Simpson

Elizabeth Watts

The prodigiously talented Mark Simpson is the only person to have won both the BBC Young Musician and BBC Young Composer of the Year awards. Tonight, both of Simpson’s parallel musical lives are on show, as the BBC Philharmonic’s Composer in Association gives the world premiere of his own Clarinet Concerto.

Tonight’s other soloist, leading British soprano Elizabeth Watts, is on double duty: tackling three Mozart arias to open the programme, then returning to end the season with Mahler’s soulful but uplifting Fourth Symphony.



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.