RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Live – Sibelius, Mozart, Beethoven

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Live – Sibelius, Mozart, Beethoven

Friday, 13 November 2020, 7.00pm

The performance will be live-streamed worldwide in HD on RTÉ Culture and broadcast live on RTÉ lyric fm.

Valse triste

Exsultate, jubilate

Symphony No. 8

A mysterious, dreamlike piece for theatre, a sacred motet clothed in operatic garb, and a ‘little’ symphony that punches above its weight.

Composed as incidental music for a theatre play ominously titled Death, Sibelius’ Valse triste immediately gained a place in the concert repertoire. Evoking the delirious visions of a dying woman, it is a melancholic waltz with a dark, fevered poetry and haunted quality that entices even as it unsettles.

The ‘stupendous coloratura sophistication and radiance’ (Neue Musikzeitung) of soprano Claudia Boyle takes centre stage for the vocal pyrotechnics of Mozart’s Exsultate, jubilate. Composed when he was just 16, it’s a bold and brilliant marriage of the operatic and the sacred.

The liveliest of Beethoven’s symphonies, the Eighth, is also the shortest earning it the nickname ‘Little’. But what distinguishes it is not its size but its infectious energy and optimism. Harking back to Mozart and Haydn, it is full of musical surprises and attention-grabbing tricks that keep players and audiences on their toes in one of the most entertaining of all symphonies.
WATCH: www.rte.ie/culture
LISTEN: https://www.rte.ie/lyricfm/the-lyric-concert-with-paul-herriott/

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.