Alina Ibragimova violin; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Alina Ibragimova violin; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Thursday, 14 January 2021, 7.30pm

The regular duo joins forces once again for a programme including Mendelssohn’s violin sonata which was lost until it was revived in the 1950s by Yehudi Menuhin. Prokofiev originally wrote the 5 Melodies as vocalises for the Ukrainian soprano Nina Koshetz in 1920 but recomposed them in 1925 as miniatures for violin and piano. The evening ends with Franck’s buoyant Sonata in A, written in 1886 as a wedding present for the virtuoso violinist Eugène Ysaÿe.

See link below to tune in.


comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.