Contempo Quartet

Contempo Quartet

Thursday, 17 October 2019, 7.30pm

Continuing a major five year project exploring the work of women composers over the centuries.

Presented by NCH in partnership with ‘Sounding the Feminists’ and supported by the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and Creative Ireland.

Contempo Quartet:

Bogden Sofei violin
Ingrid Nicola violin
Andreea Banciu viola
Adrian Mantu cello
Fiachra Garvey piano

Fanny Mendelssohn String Quartet
Ina Boyle String Quartet in E minor
Louise Farrenc Piano Quintet Op. 40



Shannon McNamee

Why I gave the above rating: 

This was a stunning performance by ConTempo Quartet and a really interesting concept for the concert. Part of a concert series by Sounding the Feminists, the point of the concert was to highlight a selection of female composers, some of whom are lesser known. On the night, the quartet played three pieces, by Fanny Mendelssohn, Ina Boyle and Louise Farrenc. Each piece was quite different, which I think made the whole performance really engaging. The Mendelssohn piece, for example, felt dramatic and exciting, while the Boyle piece was beautifully melodic and lyrical. The Farrenc piece then stood out because it was played as quintet with piano, which added a new depth to this piece and was a fantastic piece to play last. A beautiful concert, looking forward to seeing ConTempo Quartet again.

Oct 29, 2019

Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.