Fiachra Garvey (piano), Musici Ireland (strings) and Niall O’Sullivan (trumpet)

Fiachra Garvey (piano), Musici Ireland (strings) and Niall O’Sullivan (trumpet)

Wednesday, 8 December 2021, 7.30pm

A genuine prodigy of wide-ranging talent and interest, Saint-Saëns is best known for opera, larger orchestral works and instrumental concertos. However, he devoted much time and effort to writing chamber music. Marking 100 years since the composer’s death, this concert presents two of his great works, the piano quintet and his short and quirky septet. Originally written as a joke, the septet’s instrumentation of strings, piano and trumpet was most unusual at the time. However, this work was hugely popular and was later arranged by the composer for piano trio, and by his student Gabriel Fauré for piano duet.

As society reopens following the Covid-19 crisis, we want to ensure safety and comfort. All concerts take place in St Peter’s Church of Ireland, Drogheda and will have restricted numbers. The performances will last approximately 1 hour in duration and be performed without an interval. Tickets are €20 and can be booked through Droichead Arts Centre on 041 9833946 or with further information available from

The Series is funded by the Arts Council and Louth County Council and run in partnership with Droichead Arts Centre with sponsorship from the d Hotel and RTÉ Supporting the Arts.

Wednesday 8 December
Fiachra Garvey (piano), Musici Ireland (strings) and Niall O’Sullivan (trumpet)
Saint-Saëns Piano Quintet in A Major, Op.14
Saint-Saëns Septet in E flat major, Op. 65

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.