Royal Scottish National Orchestra Digital Season: Helsing conducts Dvorák Eight

Royal Scottish National Orchestra Digital Season: Helsing conducts Dvorák Eight

Friday, 29 January 2021, 7.30pm

Digital Season: Helsing conducts Dvorák Eight
Fri 29 Jan 2021, 7.30PM
At Home, with the RSNO
Richard Thompson Suite from The Mask in the Mirror
Dvorák Romance for Violin
Florence Price Violin Concerto No2
Dvorák Symphony No8
Anna-Maria Helsing CONDUCTOR
Stefan Jackiw VIOLIN

BROADCAST DATE: Friday 29 January 2021: 7.30pm

Once upon a time...Anna-Maria Helsing and the RSNO tell timeless stories from the old world and uncover unheard tales from the new. In the American Midwest, Florence Price’s radiant Second Violin Concerto lay forgotten for decades, but now the voice of its pioneering composer is being heard again. Richard Thompson evokes the times and tragedy of a neglected African-American poet. And amid the hills and forests of Central Europe, Antonín Dvorák weaves quiet fairy tales and a symphony that dances for joy. Glowing colours, burning emotions and melodies that demand to be heard.


Welcome to the RSNO Digital Season 2020:21

Published on 12 October 2020

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.