Opus One Series: Purcell/Dvorák/Vaughan Williams – Hallé Orchestra/Andrew Manze/Jian Wang

Opus One Series: Purcell/Dvorák/Vaughan Williams – Hallé Orchestra/Andrew Manze/Jian Wang

Thursday, 18 October 2018, 7.30pm

Purcell (orch. Manze for wind and brass) – Fantasia upon one note
Dvorák – Cello Concerto
Vaughan Williams – A London Symphony

Andrew Manze

Jian Wang, cello

Two distinguished Hallé favourites team up to perform what is simply the greatest of all cello concertos. When Brahms heard Dvorák’s masterpiece for the first time he was astonished, saying he wished he could have written it himself. Packed with both melodies and virtuosity, Jian Wang will more than meet its many challenges. The music of Vaughan Williams is something of a specialism for Andrew Manze. He is a superb choice to conduct ‘A London Symphony’, one of the English composer’s most imaginative, evocative and atmospheric creations.


Vaughan Williams 'A London Symphony': Scherzo (Nocturne) by The Hallé

Published on 14 August 2018

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.