Spotlight Chamber Music Series – III

Spotlight Chamber Music Series – III

Saturday, 13 November 2021, 1.00pm

The third concert in the Spotlight Chamber Music Series will feature some of the most distinguished string instrumentalists in Ireland, presenting a programme of Baroque, Classical and Contemporary works for different formations.

Purcell’s renowned Chacony, or chaconne, is an outstanding example of the Baroque mastery of this ostinato form, which encompasses a series of variations over a repeated eight-bar bassline. Originally composed for a group of viols, it will be performed here by a string quartet. Northern Irish composer Elaine Agnew’s work Three Angry Men! will follow. This was written in 1991 for string trio and comprises three sections – “Angrily!”, “Furious!” and “Calm!”. The programme will conclude with Beethoven’s String Quintet in C Major, nicknamed “The Storm” on account of its muscular and turbulent finale. Written in 1801 in the early stages of Beethoven’s middle compositional period, it is a work brimming with vitality and optimism.

Joanne Quigley McParland – Violin
Larissa O’Grady – Violin
Simon Aspell – Viola
Séamus Hickey – Viola
Yseult Cooper-Stockdale – Cello

Purcell: Chacony in G minor, Z. 730
Elaine Agnew: Three Angry Men! for String Trio
Beethoven: String Quintet in C Major, Op. 29

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.