Thursday, 6 April 2023, 9.30pm
Added by emilyheywood

Minimalist master Steve Reich returns to his New York arts scene roots in this bright and rhythmically agile piece, written and performed alongside painter Gerhard Richter’s film Moving Picture. The film starts with a two-pixel pulsating, colour-shifting line, which becomes four pixels, then sixteen, then 32 and so on. The music starts with a two-note oscillation that expands equally but then becomes liberated from the structure of the forms on film, allowing notes to escape and create their own destiny in this cool and elegant piece. Music by two other masters of the New York scene complement Reich’s music, while the London Sinfonietta, with Sound Intermedia, re-create Nunu, its commission from the late and sadly missed Mira Calix.

Julia Wolfe Tell me everything
Julius Eastman Joy Boy
Mira Calix Nunu
Anna Clyne Fractured Time
Steve Reich Reich / Richter

Manoj Kamps conductor
Sound Intermedia
London Sinfonietta

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Added by emilyheywood on 17 January 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.