Sinéad O’Halloran: Bach Cello Suites

Sinéad O’Halloran: Bach Cello Suites

Monday, 27 May 2024, 7.30pm

Sinéad O’Halloran is a cellist, member of the Marmen Quartet, and the co-founder and artistic director of the Ortús Chamber Music Festival. Sinéad has performed extensively throughout Europe, including at the BBC Proms, England; Lucerne Festival, Switzerland; and Berlin Philharmonie, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival, and Pierre Boulez Saal, Germany. Throughout 2024 she will present the Bach Cello Suites in venues around Ireland, with the support of the Arts Council.

Bach’s Cello Suites are a somewhat mystical collection of works for solo cello, and have captured the hearts and minds of music lovers worldwide. Bach most likely composed them during the period 1717–1723, when he served as Kapellmeister in Köthen, Germany. The Cello Suites are structured in six movements each. They are considered some of Bach's greatest musical achievements.

"Most cellists spend their lives delving into Bach’s Cello Suites. I find myself discovering something new in them each day. Bach encapsulates the entire universe within these suites and brings us on an emotional journey, ranging from triumphant joy to profound sadness and an overriding sense of hope and humour. Many people associate the cello with the famous prelude to the first suite, but may not have had the opportunity to experience the other 35 extraordinary movements that make up these suites. I look forward to presenting the first three cello suites at the United Arts Club and sharing these timeless masterpieces with the audience."

Bach Cello Suite no. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
Bach Cello Suite no. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008
Bach Cello Suite no. 3 in C major, BWV 1009

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Added by Linda O'Shea Farren on 17 April 2024

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.