the 6 Summertime Concerts Series sees violinist Maria Ryan and pianist Gabriela Mayer

the 6 Summertime Concerts Series sees violinist Maria Ryan and pianist Gabriela Mayer

Saturday, 24 July 2021, 1.00pm

The second recital in the 6 Summertime Concerts Series sees violinist Maria Ryan and pianist Gabriela Mayer join forces to present a varied programme of Baroque, Classical, Romantic and 20th-Century duo works.

Maria Ryan – Violin
Gabriela Mayer – Piano

Prokofiev – Cinq Mélodies, Op. 35a
Beethoven – Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Major, “Spring”, Op. 24
Viardot – Six Morceau for Violin and Piano
Veracini – Largo

Winner of the Heineken Violin Competition and the RDS Music Bursary, Maria Ryan leads a busy and diverse career as a recitalist, chamber musician, session musician and orchestral player. A member of the Banbha Quartet, which is supported by the National String Quartet Foundation, Maria has performed as part of the National Concert Hall’s Chamber Music Gathering, at the Kilkenny Arts Festival with the Amarillo Trio and in a national Music Network tour with pianist Úna Hunt, among other projects. She plays regularly with Camerata Ireland, the RTÉ Orchestras and the Irish Chamber Orchestra and is also a lecturer in the MTU Cork School of Music.
Dr Gabriela Mayer is currently the Head of the Department of Keyboard Studies at the MTU Cork School of Music. Her early training was in her native Romania, as well as Italy and later the USA, where she won numerous awards and scholarships. As a recipient of a Fulbright Graduate Fellowship to Germany in 1997, Gabriela studied piano performance at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin. She also completed a Doctorate in Musical Arts at the University of Maryland in the USA, graduating with the highest honours. Since moving to Ireland, she has engaged in teaching as well as performing both solo and chamber music recitals. Her interest in effective practice and performance has led to being part of the “Potential to Performance” project, a collaboration with colleagues from Finland, Germany, the Netherlands and Australia.

The Summertime Concerts Series is back with performances from thirteen musicians over six dates. Curated by cellist Aoife Burke, the series will feature concerts at lunchtime on Saturdays

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.