Rosanne Philippens, Julien Quentin

Rosanne Philippens, Julien Quentin

Saturday, 24 July 2021, 8.00pm

This year marks 50 years since the death of Stravinsky. His Divertimento is an arrangement that he and Samuel Dushkin made of excerpts from his ballet ‘A Fairy’s Kiss’. The ballet was intended as a homage to Tchaikovsky that involved borrowing a wide selection of lesser-known Tchaikovsky pieces and transforming them in Stravinsky’s inimitable style. The music is prime Stravinsky, largely based on lesser Tchaikovsky. It tells the story based on Hans Andersen’s Ice Maiden, who returns to claim her own his wedding day. Earlier in this Series of Festival concerts, we heard Bach’s E major Violin Sonata played on period instruments with harpsichord, baroque violin and viola da gamba. With modern instruments, Bach takes on a different allure. It is surprising these six Sonatas are not better known with each Sonata having two glorious slow movements. Anyone who has enjoyed Bach’s Violin Concertos will also love these lesser known gems. Their faster movements are equally enjoyable in the hands of sensitive performers like Rosanne and her regular recital partner, Julien Quentin.

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.