Ficino Quartet

Ficino Quartet

Sunday, 8 December 2019, 3.00pm

Thomas Adès ‘The Four Quarters’
Haydn String Quartet in D major Op. 76 No. 5
Donnacha Dennehy ‘Stamp (to avoid erotic thoughts)’
William Walton String Quartet No. 2 in A minor

Ficino Ensemble was formed by Artistic Director Nathan Sherman in 2012 as a flexible group aiming to perform popular chamber music alongside lesser known works that deserve to be appreciated. The Quartet features four outstanding musicans who are building an impressive reputation and an exciting repertoire. Their programme includes two major British works: William Walton’s second quartet from 1946 and Thomas Adès's award-winning second quartet, The Four Quarters, from 2010, written for the Emerson Quartet. Haydn’s Op.76 No.5 - the one with the other-worldly slow movement in F sharp major, and Donnacha Dennehy’s rhythmically entertaining Stamp, complete a fascinating and rewarding programme.



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.