Vanbrugh and Friends

Vanbrugh and Friends

Sunday, 6 October 2019, 3.00pm

Shostakovich String Quartet No.1
Mozart String Quintet in G minor K516
Dvorak String Quintet in E flat major Op.97 ‘American’

The Vanbrugh - Keith Pascoe, Simon Aspell and Christopher Marwood - welcome David McElroy and Ed Creedon for performances of two of the great string quintets: Mozart’s dark and melancholic G minor quintet from 1787, and Dvorak’s sunny, mellifluous ‘American’ Quintet, written in 1891.

As curtain raiser a remarkable young group from CIT Cork School of Music, the Danu Quartet, will play Shostakovich’s first string quartet, music of great charm and brilliance, its superb quartet writing a sure portent of the fourteen extraordinary quartets that followed it.



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.