BBC Prom 8: Invitation to the Dance

BBC Prom 8: Invitation to the Dance

Wednesday, 24 July 2019, 7.30pm

Dance – whether in the insistent Russian folk rhythms of Stravinsky’s Firebird suite, the exotic pulse of Bartók’s Dance Suite, or the languorous, sensual stretches of Debussy’s faun – runs right through this concert featuring three orchestral classics.

Claude Debussy
Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune(10 mins)
Henry Wood Novelties: UK premiere, 1904
Péter Eötvös
Alhambra (violin concerto)(20 mins)
BBC co-commission with Festival Internacional de Música y Danza de Granada, Orchestre de Paris and Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker: UK premiere


Béla Bartók
Dance Suite(17 mins)
Henry Wood Novelties: UK premiere, 1925
Igor Stravinsky
The Firebird – suite (revised version, 1919)(23 mins)
Henry Wood Novelties: UK premiere (Suite No. 1), 1913

Isabelle Faust (violin)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Péter Eötvös (conductor)

Claude Debussy
Péter Eötvös
Béla Bartók
Igor Stravinsky

See link below for further details.



Be Part of the Future of the Journal of Music

Sign up for our newsletters to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a concert listing see here. For advertising visit this link.


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.