Vanbrugh & Friends in Castleconnell

Vanbrugh & Friends in Castleconnell

Tuesday, 28 November 2023, 8.00pm

The Vanbrugh & Friends
Keith Pascoe, violin
Marja Gaynor, violin
Simon Aspell, viola
Ed Creedon, viola
Christopher Marwood, cello

Brahms - String Quintet Op.111 [1890]
Dvořák - String Quintet Op.77 [1875]

The Vanbrugh and their guests present two of the great works from the extended chamber music repertoire. Brahms’ magnificent 1890 string quintet Op.111 started life in the composer’s sketches for a fifth symphony and its final form retains an orchestral grandeur, both in structure and in texture. This is truly one of the finest works in the chamber music repertoire, exuberant, elegant, subtle, original and unmistakably Brahms. Dvořák’s Op.77 quintet, written in 1875 just as he was on the brink of worldwide stardom, adds the depth of the double bass to the instruments of the string quartet and together with Dvořák’s love of melody and rhythmic vitality, lets loose a glorious and joyful musical celebration.

Supported by the Arts Council and RTE Lyric FM

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by nsqf on 24 September 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.