Irish Chamber Orchestra       Mozart -The Final Symphonies

Irish Chamber Orchestra Mozart -The Final Symphonies

Thursday, 9 December 2021, 8.00pm


Jörg Widmann Director/Clarinet


Mozart Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major, K. 543
Mozart Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K.550
Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551 Jupiter

The story of Mozart’s final three symphonies are a microcosm of healing, recovery, and renewal. Symphony No. 39 is gentle and buoyant. The melancholic Symphony No 40, adored by audiences, reflects Mozart’s struggles but the gorgeous, dreamy second movement, sees the strings woven closely together – as in the love duets of Italian operas of the time. Finally, his popular Jupiter Symphony reflects the invincible spirit that drove him to succeed against all odds, with its Olympian character and the greatest of all symphonic finales.


Published on 28 September 2021

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.