The Commons: Music without Borders for Brexit Day

The Commons: Music without Borders for Brexit Day

Friday, 29 March 2019, 9.00pm

On what will surely be an historic day for Europeans, The Commons is a collective statement by improvising musicians of Ireland, England, Wales and Scotland that, despite potential sea changes politically, music will always flow freely across any borders, and belongs ultimately to no-one. Rather, it is us who belong to it.

Spearheaded by saxophonist Nick Roth in consultation with the other provinces, The Commons is an 8 piece ensemble featuring some of these Islands most illuminating talent, including celebrated pianist Huw Warren. These musicians have come together, playing each others music to reinforce and reflect our collective talent.

Wales is represented admirably by award-winning composer and multi-instrumentalist Maria Lamburn alongside Huw Warren with his son Zoot on drum duties. England by Neil Yates and the aforementioned Roth with Kieran McLeod representing the Scots on Trumpet. Rounding out this impressive ensemble are the talents of Galway native Matthew Berrill on saxophones and Dubliner Dave Redmond on bass.

Neil Yates - trumpet
Matthew Berrill - saxophones
Nick Roth - saxophones
Maria Lamburn - bass clarinet
Kieran Mcleod - trombone
Huw Warren - piano
Dave Redmond - double bass
Zoot Warren - drums

Friday 29th March, Doors: 8:30pm/Music 9pm
Tickets: 12 online/15 at the door
Note: In this venue seating may not be available for all ticket holders, and will generally be on a first-come, first-served basis.


Published on 30 January 2019

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.