20 Singers Announced for BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2019

Scottish mezzo-soprano Catriona Morison, winner of the 2017 competition.

20 Singers Announced for BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2019

2019 competition takes place on 15–22 June.

Twenty singers have been announced to compete in the 2019 BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition. The competitors – ten men and ten women chosen from over 400 applicants – come from 15 countries.

The biennial competition takes place this year on 15–22 June with three main awards: ‘Singer of the World’, ‘Song Prize’ and ‘Audience Prize’.

Singer of the World
For the main award, the singers will perform their own programmes of operatic and concert works at St David’s Hall, Cardiff. Judging the main prize will be a panel including opera director David Pountney (chair), singers José Cura, Dame Felicity Lott and Federica von Stade, and Grange Park Opera founder Wasfi Kani.

The 2017 winner was Scottish mezzo-soprano Catriona Morison.

For the Song Prize – lieder and art songs – the recitals take place at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, with a final at St David’s Hall. The song jury is chaired by Wigmore Hall’s John Gilhooly with a panel including singers Robert Holl, Dame Felicity Lott, Frederica von Stade and pianist Malcolm Martineau.

Winners of the Singer of the Year Prize and Song Prize will receive £20,000 and £10,000 respectively. The 2017 joint Song Prize winners were Catriona Morison and Mongolian baritone Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar.

The Audience Prize allows the public to vote for their favourite singer, in the concert hall, by phone and online. The winner is presented with £2,500 and a crystal trophy. The audience award in 2017 went to Louise Alder.

See the full list of 2019 competitors below. The competition will be broadcast on BBC television and radio and online. Details will be announced nearer the date.

For more information, visit https://www.bbc.co.uk/events/r2hzp6?lang=en

BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2019
Guadalupe Barrientos, mezzo soprano – Argentina
Lauren Fagan, soprano – Australia
Camila Titinger, soprano – Brazil
Mingjie Lei, tenor – China
Katie Bray, mezzo soprano – England
Adriana Gonzalez, soprano – Guatemala
Jorge Espino, baritone – Mexico
Badral Chuluunbaatar, baritone – Mongolia
Luis Gomes, tenor- Portugal
Roman Arndt, tenor – Russia
Karina Kherunts, mezzo soprano – Russia
Yulia Mennibaeva, mezzo soprano – Russia
Owen Metsileng, tenor – South Africa
Leonardo Lee, baritone – South Korea
Sooyeon Lee, soprano – South Korea
Lena Belkina, mezzo soprano – Ukraine
Andrei Kymach, baritone – Ukraine
Patrick Guetti, bass – USA
Richard Ollarsaba, bass baritone – USA
Angharad Lyddon, mezzo soprano – Wales

Published on 4 March 2019

comments powered by Disqus