British Composer Awards Open for Entries

British Composer Awards Open for Entries

Works that received a UK premiere between April 2017 and March 2018 are eligible. Deadline is 9 July.

Entries are now open for the 16th British Composer Awards. 

There are 12 categories and anyone, including the composer, can enter eligible works. The awards are judged anonymously.

To be eligible, works must have received a UK première performance, either live or broadcast, between 1 April 2017 and 31 March 2018.

The 12 categories are:

1. Amateur or Young Performers
2. Chamber Ensemble
3. Choral
4. Community or Educational Project
5. Jazz Composition for Small Ensemble
6. Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble
7. Orchestral
8. Small Chamber
9. Solo or Duo
10. Sonic Art
11. Stage Works
12. Wind Band or Brass Band

Entries are made via the BASCA Awards Entry Site, where you can also find the full guidelines and eligibility criteria.

Last year’s winners included Andrew Hamilton, Brian Irvine, Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian, Kerry Andrew, Rebecca Saunders, Emily Howard, Robin Haigh, Deborah Pritchard, Kathy Hinde, Philip Venables, Kenneth Hesketh, Shiva Feshareki and Nigel Osborne.

The awards ceremony will take place at the British Museum on Tuesday 4 December 2018.

For further details, visit

Published on 25 June 2018

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.