Lankum Nominated for Three BBC Folk Awards


Lankum Nominated for Three BBC Folk Awards

Cara Dillon, Ye Vagabonds, Declan O’Rourke and Jack Warnock also nominated.

Irish group Lankum have been nominated for three BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards – Best Group; Best Album for Between the Earth and Sky; and Best Original Track for ‘The Granite Gaze’. The group will perform at the awards ceremony on 4 April at the Belfast Waterfront.

This is the first time that the BBC awards, which are now in their 19th year, will take place in Northern Ireland. The TG4 Gradam Ceoil awards – which celebrate traditional music in Ireland – recently took place in Belfast for the first time also.

Also nominated this year are Carlow duo Ye Vagabonds for Best Traditional Track (‘Lowlands of Holland’ from their album Ye Vagabonds), Declan O’Rourke for Best Original Track (‘The Great Saint Lawrence River’ from Chronicles of the Great Irish Famine), Derry singer Cara Dillon for Folk Singer of the Year and Derry musician Jack Warnock for the Young Folk Award.

Last year Dublin singer Daoirí Farrell won two BBC folk awards, the Horizon Award for a new artist, and Best Traditional Track for ‘Van Diemen’s Land’.

For the full list of 2018 BBC nominations see below. For further details and tickets, visit

Folk Singer of the Year
Cara Dillon
Julie Fowlis
Siobhan Miller
Karine Polwart

Best Duo
Chris Stout & Catriona McKay
O’Hooley & Tidow
Ross Ainslie & Ali Hutton

Best Group
Elephant Sessions
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band
Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys

Horizon Award
Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne
Georgia Lewis
Ryan Young

Musician of the Year
Martin Simpson
Mohsen Amini
Ross Ainslie
Tim Edey

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Jack Warnock 
Josiah & Ludwig
Mera Royle 
The Drystones

Best Album
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band – Big Machine

Karine Polwart with Pippa Murphy – A Pocket of Wind Resistance

Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky

The Young’uns – Strangers

Best Original Track
Be The Man – The Young’uns

Cân y cŵn – Gwyneth Glyn

The Granite Gaze – Lankum

The Great Saint Lawrence River – Declan O’Rourke

Best Traditional Track
Banks of Newfoundland – Siobhan Miller

Lisa Lân – Alaw

Lowlands of Holland – Ye Vagabonds

The Life of a Man / Greensleeves – Chris Foster

Published on 11 February 2018

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link