Nominees Announced for 2020 Scottish Traditional Music Awards

Siobhan Miller – nominated for Album of the Year and Scots Singer of the Year.

Nominees Announced for 2020 Scottish Traditional Music Awards

Awards to be broadcast on BBC Alba on 12 December.

The MG Alba Scots Trad Music Awards will take place this year on 12 December in the form of a broadcast on BBC ALBA as well as a series of specially recorded music performances. Twelve awards will be given, including Musician of the Year, Original Work of the Year and Online Performance of 2020. 

Among the nominees this year are composer and harper Ailie Robertson, guitarist Jenn Butterworth, singer Siobhan Miller and pianist John Carmichael. See the full list of nominees below. The winners in each category will be decided by public vote, which is now open.

In addition to the twelve award categories, three stalwarts of the Scotish traditional music community will be recognised through special awards – the Janet Paisley Services to Scots Language Award, the Services to Gaelic Award, and the Hamish Henderson Award for Services to Traditional Music.

Last year’s winners included the Kinnaris Quintet, Blazin’ Fiddles, Breabach and Man of the Minch among winners.

On the day of the awards, there will also be a presentation of Scottish traditional music on the social media pages of organising body Hands Up For Trad. Presented by singer-songwriter Findlay Napier, the presentation will feature Kinnaris Quintet, folk ensemble Dallahan, electronic-folk group Inyal, Glasgow five-piece The Paul McKenna Band, fiddle-player Ryan Young and Jenn Butterworth.

For more information, and to vote in the awards, visit:

MG Alba Scots Trad Music Award – 2020 Nominees

Music Tutor of the Year, sponsored by Creative Scotland’s Youth Music Initiative
  1. Rua MacMillan
  2. Rachel Hair
  3. Josie Duncan
  4. Lauren MacColl
  5. Corrina Hewat
  6. Laura Beth Salter
  7. Louise Mackenzie
Gaelic Singer of the Year, sponsored by The Highland Society of London
  1. Fionnag NicChoinnich (Fiona MacKenzie)
  2. Joy Dunlop
  3. Rachel Walker
  4. Raymond Bremner
Album of The Year, sponsored by Birnam CD
  1. All Is Not Forgotten by Siobhan Miller
  2. Banjaxed by Ciaran Ryan
  3. Bayview by Project Smoke
  4. Eye of the Storm by Tide Lines
  5. Light My Byre by Peat & Diesel
  6. Shhh I’m on the Phone by Innes Watson
  7. Steall by Ewen Henderson
  8. The Ledger by Gillian Frame, Findlay Napier and Mike Vass
  9. The Roke by Ross Miller
  10. The Woods by Hamish Napier
Up & Coming artist of the Year, sponsored by Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
  1. Benedict Morris
  2. Rebecca Hill
  3. Malin Lewis
  4. Avocet
Community Music Project of the Year, sponsored by Greentrax Recordings
  1. Campbell’s Ceilidh
  2. Tunes in the Hoose
  3. MacGregor’s Live at Five
  4. Hands Up for Trad Strathspey and Reel Society
  5. Joy Dunlop’s Covid Choir
  6. Carry On Streamin
  7. Comhairle Cèilidhs (Comhairle nan Eilean Siar)
Event of the Year Award sponsored by VisitScotland
  1. 365 stories + Music (Aidan O’Rourke and James Robertson)
  2. Virtual Edinburgh International Harp Festival
  3. Fèis Rois Adult Feis Weekend Online
  4. Tional Gaelic Online Music Festival
  5. BBC Radio Scotland Young Traditional Musician Award 20th Anniversary Concert (Celtic Connections)
  6. Coastal Connections (Celtic Connections)
Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year, sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association (TMSA)
  1. Siobhan Miller
  2. Claire Hastings
  3. Adam Holmes
  4. Allan & Rosemary McMillan
Trad Video of the Year, sponsored by Threads of Sound
  1. ‘Erica’s’ by Balter
  2. ‘Calum Dan’s Transit Van’ by Peat & Diesel
  3. ‘Deep Dark Beast’ by Twelfth Day
  4. ‘Moorlough Shore’ by ELIR
  5. ‘Ceòl Mòr Style’ by Calum MacCrimmon
  6. ‘Taste the Rain’ by Tide Lines Choir
Online Performance of 2020, sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust
  1. Sandy on Sunday Show (Sandy Brechin)
  2. Live from The Lounge with Paul Anderson and Shona Donaldson
  3. Pete Clark from the shed
  4. Tide Lines Virtual World Tour
  5. Skerryvore Live Across The World
  6. Duncan Chisholm’s Covid Ceilidh
  7. Lomond Ceilidh Band’s The Daily Ceilidh
Original Work of the Year, sponsored by PRS for Music
  1. The Woods by Hamish Napier
  2. ‘Everyday Heroes’ by Skerryvore
  3. The Orcadians of Hudson Bay by Graham Rorie
  4. ‘To the Awe’ by Rachel Newton
  5. ‘Camhanaich (Dawn)’ by Mhairi Hall
Trad Music in the Media, sponsored by Sabhal Mòr Ostaig
  1. Marie Martin Box and Fiddle Magazine
  2. Ewan Galloway and Derek Hamilton RadioGH
  3. Fiona McNeill Celtic & Folk Fusions Radio Show
  4. Sruth na Maoile BBC Radio nan Gàidheal and RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta
  5. Anna Massie Black Isle Correspondent
Musician of the Year, sponsored by the University of the Highlands and Islands
  1. Tim Edey
  2. Peter Wood
  3. Anna Massie
  4. Jenn Butterworth
  5. Ailie Robertson
  6. John Carmichael

Published on 3 November 2020

comments powered by Disqus