Composers Selected for Composer Lab and Jerome Hynes Award

Composers Anne-Marie O’Farrell, Michael Doherty and María Minguella

Composers Selected for Composer Lab and Jerome Hynes Award

Robert Coleman wins Jerome Hynes Composition Competition and Anne-Marie O’Farrell, Michael Doherty and María Minguella selected for Composer Lab.

Composer Lab 2018
Anne-Marie O’Farrell, Michael Doherty and María Minguella have been announced as participants in the Contemporary Music Centre and RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 
Composer Lab programme.

Composer Lab provides an opportunity for composers to create a new short work for the orchestra, under the mentorship of David Fennessy, and including workshops with musicians of the orchestra. The three new works will be premiered on 1 May 2018 at the National Concert Hall. 

Last year’s participants of the Composer Lab programme included Seán Doherty, David Bremner, Matthew Whiteside and Francis Heery. For more details, see

Jerome Hynes Composers’ Competition 2017
The NCH’s annual Jerome Hynes Composers’ Competition was won this year by composer Robert Coleman. Selected by a panel of two composers, Siobhán Cleary and Linda Buckley, Coleman will receive a prize of €2,500 and a chance to create a new piece to be premiered next year. 

Speaking of the win and the new work, Coleman said: 

Writing for orchestra is always an exciting and challenging task and I’m looking forward to working with the SinfoNua Orchestra for this new commission.

Recent winners of the Jerome Hynes Competition include David Coonan (2016) and Eoghan Desmond (2015).

For more information about the prize, visit

Published on 20 November 2017

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link