DLR Arts Office Announces Music Residencies for 2015–16

Jazz drummer Matthew Jacobson

DLR Arts Office Announces Music Residencies for 2015–16

Each residency will include rehearsal time, the creation of new work and performances.

Following its call for applications in August, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Arts Office has announced Matthew Jacobson, Elizabeth Hilliard and Grainne Mulvey, The Eidola Trio, and Sebastian Adams as the artists undertaking four music residencies over 2015–16.

Each residency will offer the musicians rehearsal time in the dlrLexIcon studio and will allow the public opportunities to attend performances of the new music that has been composed. The musicians were selected by Deirdre McCrea, Alec O’Leary and Fergus Sheil.

Matthew Jacobson is a jazz drummer, composer and bandleader. As well as performing with and leading his own quartet ReDiviDeR, Jacobson plays regularly with Ensemble Ériu, Francesco Turrisi’s Taquin Experiments and Chris Guilfoyle’s UMBRA, and in Europe with AERIE, Blowout Fracture and Foluain Trio. 

The second residency will see a collaboration between classical soprano Elizabeth Hilliard and composer Grainne Mulvey. Hilliard is in demand as a soloist and chamber musician, and is a member of Chamber Choir Ireland and Resurgam. Mulvey’s music has been performed and broadcast internationally. She is Head of Composition at the DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama and is a member of Aosdána.

The Eidola Trio comprises Malachy Robinson (viola de gamba), Eamonn Sweeney (baroque guitar, lute) and Anita Vedres (baroque violin). They bring period performance and instruments to contemporary audiences, performing repertoire ranging from the very ancient to the brand new.

Sebastian Adams is a composer, concert producer, viola player and computer musician. He is a founder of Kirkos Ensemble, a member of the Irish Composers’ Collective and has composed over 60 works. He was recently also appointed RTÉ Lyric FM Composer in Residence.

For more visit http://www.dlrcoco.ie/arts/musicians_in_residence_2015_2016.htm

Published on 28 October 2015

comments powered by Disqus