Inaugural Harp Forum Meeting Takes Place in Termonfeckin

Attendees at the inaugural meeting of the Irish harp forum on 29 June 2016 in An Grianán, Termonfeckin, Co. Louth. (Image: Kieran Cummins)

Inaugural Harp Forum Meeting Takes Place in Termonfeckin

10-member steering committee established.

The very first meeting of the new Irish harp forum has taken place in Termonfeckin as part of An Chúirt Chruitireachta harp festival.

The forum, the establishment of which is one of the recommendations in the Arts Council’s recent Report on the Harping Tradition in Ireland, was facilitated by Nicholas Carolan and agreed a start-up steering group with 10 members.

The members are: Siobhán Armstrong, Cormac de Barra, Clíona Doris, Dearbhail Finnegan, Janet Harbison, Laoise Kelly, Aibhlín McCrann, Máire Ní Chathasaigh, Áine Ní Dhubhghail, and Úna Ní Fhlanagáin. 

At its initial meeting, the steering group elected Aibhlín McCrann as Chair and Úna Ní Fhlannagáin as minutes secretary. The group will now work to draw up a proposed governance structure and a draft strategic plan.

Aibhlín McCrann commented,

We were delighted to see such a turnout of harpers at the inaugural harp forum. This historic meeting reflected the diverse and rich variety of harp practice, and showed the huge upsurge of interest in all genres of harp performance countrywide. We’re working towards a second gathering at the Achill International Harp Festival where we look forward to fulfilling more of the recommendations from Toner Quinn’s 2013 Report on the Harping Tradition in Ireland, commissioned by The Arts Council.

The next meeting takes place during Féile Chruite Acla / Achill International Harp Festival on 28–31 October.

For more, visit

Published on 7 July 2016

comments powered by Disqus