New Chairperson Appointed to Board of Music Generation

Leo Blennerhassett 

New Chairperson Appointed to Board of Music Generation

Leo Blennerhassett, former Managing Director of Accenture Ireland, succeeds Dr Don Thornhill.

Music Generation has announced the appointment of Leo Blennerhassett as Chairperson of the Board of Directors. A former Managing Director of Accenture Ireland, Mr Blennerhassett is currently Chairperson of the Board of RSA Insurance Ireland. Previously he was also an adjunct lecturer on the MBA programme at Trinity College Dublin and a member of the Advisory Board of the Business School.

Welcoming the announcement, The Edge (U2 are one of the co-funders of Music Generation) commented: 

Leo has been a constant and active supporter of our common cause to bring music education to children and young people throughout Ireland. We are delighted that he has agreed to take on the role of Chairman and continue the work to make Music Generation a national movement.

Leo Blennerhassett added:

I am delighted to continue my work on the Board of Music Generation and to take up this new role as Chairperson. The achievements of the programme during its first phase have been nothing short of remarkable. The ground-breaking approach to public-private partnership that the organisation models has  paved the way for further growth while ensuring sustainability, enabling positive outcomes for children and young people through music. I look forward to collaborating with my fellow Board members, the Executive of Music Generation, the programme’s philanthropic donors, the Department of Education and Skills and Local Music Education Partnerships to advance the shared vision of the organisation. 

Mr Blennerhassett, a Board member since 2010, succeeds Dr Don Thornhill who was appointed Chairperson last March but who has now been appointed Chairperson of the Legal Services Regulatory Authority established by Government. 

The current Board now consists of Blennerhassett (Chairperson), Pat Burke, Dr Clíona Doris, Martin Drury, Jackie Maguire, James Morris, Shaun Purcell and Bill Whelan. 

For more, visit

Published on 27 March 2017

comments powered by Disqus