A New Compilation of Traditional Irish Songs

A New Compilation of Traditional Irish Songs

A Stór Mo Chroí is a new compilation of songs from the record company of IML Irish Music Licensing, compiled by Celtic Note manager, Colm Ó Siocháin.

A Stór Mo Chroí is a new compilation of songs from the record company of IML Irish Music Licensing. It is compiled by Celtic Note manager Colm Ó Siocháin, and as such it is the work of someone who knows what they’re at and what works, having previously applied his knowledge to the very successful ‘Éistigí’ CD, of which Celtic Note alone sold over 3000 copies last year.

Speaking to The Journal of Music, O’Siochain explains that he didn’t want to follow the usual route of doing an Eistigí 2. ‘I wanted a theme to make sure it would be something different. I felt there were so many beautiful love songs out there and that Irish traditional singers do love songs in a way that is powerful … though dark. I wanted to choose ones that had great stories, and not the My Lovely Rose of This or My Darling Rose of That, but ones that reflected the truth that love is a bit of a roller coaster — let’s be honest.’

O’Siochain’s approach is refreshing in that while he chooses songs from many well-known acts, and acknowledges that some of the choices are very subjective, he also makes sure to introduce a newer batch of musicians and singers on the back of the others. ‘When I was asked for suggestions in the past for compilations I always tried to open it up a bit, but compilations tend to be mostly from the company’s catalogue of artists and very safe, and you could end up never going beyond the Dolores Keanes and Frances Blacks of the world.’

This compilation doesn’t hold to such commercial boundaries and goes instead for combinations of new and established, and expected and unexpected; and in terms of themes O’Siochain sees a kind of call and refrain element to some of the sequences of songs, and a playing around with the clichés of how the sexes experience love. ‘It’s equally difficult for both sexes, really. But the songs all have that twinge, either a happy one or a sad one.’

O’Siochain sounds pleased with the result and expects the compilation to do very well, but adds: ‘The one unfortunate thing for me is that I missed the chance to include Noriana Kennedy as her CD came in just after the list for this one was finalised.’

Track list
Disc 1
1. Fair And Tender Ladies — Lumiere
2. Starry Night — Davy Spillane & Seán Tyrell
3. I Hung My Harp Upon The Willows — Eddi Reader and Alan Kelly
4. When You And I Were True — John Spillane
5. She Moved Through The Fair — Loreena McKennitt
6. Raglan Road — Luke Kelly
7. False Lover John — Karan Casey & John Doyle
8. Pretty Polly — Gráda
9. An Cailín Rua — Skara Brae
10. Mary And The Soldier — Andy Irvine & Paul Brady
11. Do You Love An Apple — The Bothy Band
12. Co Ni Mire Ruim (Who Will Flirt With Me) — Capercaillie
13. Lough Erne Shore — Lá Lugh
14. Two Sisters — Clannad
15. The Galway Girl — Sharon Shannon with Steve Earle & The Woodchoppers

Disc 2
1. Spanish Lady — Maighréad & Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill
2. Love Is Pleasing — The Dubliners
3. Free & Easy — Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
4. Wedding Dress — T With The Maggies
5. Ní Sé ‘na Lá — Aoife Ní Fhearraigh
6. The Voyage — Turlough
7. Cailleach An Airgid — Niamh Ní Charra
8. Anachie Gordon — Sinéad O’Connor
9. Half-Hanged MacNaghten — Fullset
10. On The Banks Of The Old Pontchertrain — Liam Ó Maonlaí & Sharon Shannon with The Hothouse Flowers
11. Sorry — Solas
12. Thíos I dTeach an Tórraimh — Téada
13. The Star Of The County Down — Loreena McKennitt
14. The Night Visiting Song — Damien Dempsey
15. All The Ways You Wander — Pauline Scanlon

Published on 25 November 2011

comments powered by Disqus