New Releases of the Week (11 December 2020)

Charlie and Rowan Piggott have just released 'The Trip We Took Over The Mountain'.

New Releases of the Week (11 December 2020)

A round-up of recent releases, including Charlie and Rowan Piggott, Niamh Ní Charra, Kyoto Love Hotel, SON, Anna Mullarkey, John Keehan, Mundy, and Linda Catlin Smith. To submit your music for inclusion, please email [email protected].

Charlie Piggott and Rowan Piggott – The Trip We Took Over The Mountain
Charlie Piggott is best known as a founding member of De Dannan, playing on classic recordings such as The Mist Covered Mountain and Star-Spangled Molly. This new album, released in November, features Charlie on accordion and his son, Rowan Piggot, on five-string fiddle and also singing. Most of the sets were put together on a short tour that the duo took from Miltown Malbay over the Burren to Rowan’s childhood home of Kinvara. The Trip We Took Over The Mountain includes a waltz-like reprise of the Junior Crehan jig ‘The Mist Covered Mountain’. Visit

Click on the image below to listen.

Niamh Ní Charra – Donnelly’s Arm
Donnelly’s Arm is the new album from Kerry fiddle player, concertina player and singer Niamh Ní Charra. The title refers to the nineteenth-century Irish boxer Dan Donnelly and is the name of a reel composed by Ní Charra. She has also included several other of her compositions, plus tunes by Diarmuid Moynihan and Orlaith McAuliffe as well as traditional pieces. Songs include Si Kahn’s ‘Gone, Gonna Rise Again’ and ‘Ceol an Phíobaire’, and guest artists include guitarist Kevin Corbett, bodhrán player Dominic Keogh, cellist Kate Ellis, McAuliffe on flute and tin whistle, Claire Sherry on banjo and piper Mikie Smyth. Available in 6-panel CD digipak with 20-page booklet. Visit

Click on the image below to listen.

Kyoto Love Hotel – Grow
Joe Geaney and Laura Sheary’s electronic pop duo act Kyoto Love Hotel have just released a new EP, Grow, out today. The new record follows singles from earlier this year, ‘Machine’ and ‘You Unfold’, both of which feature on the EP. Commenting on Grow, the band says: ‘The four songs are about birth, death and growth. Each song represents a different aspect of consciousness. The lyrics often come back to the spaces we navigate as human beings. On the one hand, the geographical landscapes that we traverse. On the other hand, domestic space and our interior lives. What impact do these spaces have on our psyches?’. Visit:

Click on the image below to listen.

Susan Quirke – Winter’s Here
Lahinch-based singer-songwriter Susan Quirke has just released her fourth single ‘Winter’s Here’, written about winter as a time of rest, reflection and renewal. The soft ballad with reverberating electric guitar features guest musicians including Colm Mac Con Iomaire, former Lír guitarist Colm Quearney, Justin Carroll on keyboard, Graham Hopkins on drums, and Rob Malone on bass. Visit:

SON – Almost
Clare singer-songwriter SON (Susan O’Neill), who last week performed as part of Other Voices’ digital festival, has this week released a new single, ‘Almost’. The song was written by O’Neill at Hotel Doolin while taking part in an artist residency there. Mick Flannery collaborated with O’Neill on the lyrics and he can be heard playing piano on the track. Flannery and SON have previously collaborated, with their song ‘Baby Talk’ being awarded Best Original Track of the Year at the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards last month. Visit:

Anna Mullarkey – To The Island
Singer and composer Anna Mullarkey has just released a new single ‘To The Island’, following works from earlier this year including ‘Alright’, EP Spéir, and a number of works composed for film. ‘To The Island’ was written to accompany the book by the same name by author Patricia Forde, funded by Galway 2020 and released in two versions  one in English and the other in Irish. Visit:

John Keehan – The Humours of Scariff
The Humours of Scariff is the debut album from fiddle-player John Keehan. Originally from Galway, Keehan moved to Scariff in County Clare in 2002 and has since been a regular fixture of the traditional music scene in the East Clare area. This new album features fifteen tracks of mainly dance tunes and includes two songs. There are guest performances from Derek Hickey (accordion), Ciara O’Sullivan (harp and vocals), Willie Kilkenny (flute) and Mary Noonan (vocals). The album was recorded by Jack Talty at Raelach Studios in Clare. Visit

Click on the image below to listen.

Mundy – Dark Long Enough
Mundy’s new song ‘Dark Long Enough’ is his first release since 2015, and celebrates the light at the end of every dark tunnel. The track was recorded live for the television programme Ireland In Music at Newbridge House in Fingal and will feature in the one-off TV special which will premiere on RTÉ One on Tuesday 29 December at 8pm. Visit:

Linda Catlin Smith – Meadow
Meadow is a new record by Canadian composer Linda Catlin Smith and the latest release by Louth Contemporary Music Society. A 32-minute string trio performed by Mia Cooper (violin), Joachim Roewer (viola) and William Butt (cello), the work, which was performed in Louth last year, is described by the composer as reflecting aspects of a grassland: ‘A meadow is a simple place, with elements that are there quite naturally,’ the composer writes, ‘it’s not a spectacular garden, but if you look closely there are many different types of plants and tiny flowers. It is a place of infinite variation.’ Catlin Smith continues: ‘…the work is more like a patient observation of material than a form of self-expression. I try to keep my self out of it, and just let it be.’ Meadow is the first in a series of new recordings to be released by LCMS. Future releases will include work by Kevin Volans and Jürg Frey. Visit:

To submit your music for inclusion, visit:

Published on 11 December 2020

comments powered by Disqus