New Releases of the Week (26 March 2021)

Saint Sister’s new track ‘Karaoke Song’ is out now (Photo: Ellius Grace).

New Releases of the Week (26 March 2021)

A round-up of recent releases, including For Those I Love, Sun Collective, Saint Sister, Leo Chadburn and JJ Lee. To submit your music for inclusion, please email [email protected]

For Those I Love – For Those I Love
Dublin songwriter and producer David Balfe, performing as For Those I Love, releases his self-titled debut album today. Balfe, who was a member of punk band Burnt Out, began writing the album as a tribute to friendship and those closest to him, but the death of his close friend and band-mate, spoken word artist Paul Curran, in 2018, caused him to reshape his songwriting. The gripping, nine-track record is a stark and personal telling of grief, loss, love, nostalgia and the beauty of tight-knit friendship. Balfe made his first live performance as For Those I Love on BBC Two’s Later… with Jools Holland in November, and this week appeared on Other Voices. Purchase the album here:

Sun Collective – Wild
Indie-folk ensemble Sun Collective have this week released a new single, ‘Wild’, which features contributions from Lisa Hannigan and pianist Patrick O’Laoghaire, who performs as I Have a Tribe. The song, which follows the 2020 EP release Move \ Remove, is the first of three singles to be released in connection with their collective performance on this series of Other Voices, which airs on RTÉ 2 on 15 April. Visit:

Saint Sister – Karaoke Song
Ambient folk duo Saint Sister have announced that their second album, Where I Should End, is due for release on 25 June. ‘Karaoke Song’ is the first single from the record and is out now. The track is upbeat, with a retro-pop feel and is a move away from the atmospheric, folk-driven sound of their previous work, but their soft vocals and close harmonies remain. The accompanying music video shows the pair in bright, 80s-inspired outfits, playfully singing and dancing with lyrics and visuals on display in a karaoke-style. Visit:

Leo Chadburn – Slower / Talker
British and composer of experimental and avant-pop music, Leo Chadburn, has today released a new album, Slower / Talker. The record is his fifth album and features six new works by the composer, written between 2011 and 2020. Featuring leading experimental ensembles Apartment House and Quatour Bozzini, Slower / Talker explores a sound-world of drifting piano and transparent string harmonies, bold silences and meticulous, grid-like musical structures, which frame understated spoken voiceovers and fleeting song. Purchase the album on Bandcamp:

Click on the image below to listen.

JJ Lee – Woes ft. Moggy
‘Woes ft. moggy’ is the new song from Cork-based electronic music producer JJ Lee, who released a series of collaborative singles last year, including ‘All my friends (feat. Hey Rusty & Cathal Histon)’, ‘Sink (feat. Caoimhe Coleman & Matthew Xavier Corrigan)’ and ‘Atlantis (feat. Scenes)’. This new track sees Lee work with Cork singer-songwriter and producer Luke Daly, performing as Moggy. Commenting on the work, Lee said: ‘It’s good to do something different, this song kind of fell out of me a while ago and at the time Luke (Moggy) had released a track called “Eucalpytus” which I really enjoyed, I thought his style would compliment it nicely… It really was a collaborative effort’. Purchase the track on Bandcamp:

Click on the image below to listen.

To submit your music for inclusion, visit:

Published on 26 March 2021

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link