New Releases of the Week (5 February 2021)

Wyvern Lingo’s new song ‘Only Love Only Light’ has just been released.

New Releases of the Week (5 February 2021)

A round-up of recent releases, including Aggie Whyte, Emma Langford, Wyvern Lingo, Jane O'Leary, Peter Dickson Lopez, Corrina Bonshek, Fiachna Ó Braonáin and Why Axis. To submit your music for inclusion, please email [email protected].

Aggie Whyte – Aggie Whyte
Aggie Whyte (1920–1979) was a fiddle-player from Ballinakill in East Galway. Taught by her father Tommy Whyte and Jack Mulkere, she became a talented musician and won several competitions including the All-Ireland Senior Fiddle title and the Oireachtas Gold Medal. She performed and travelled with the Ballinakill Ceili Band and made many broadcasts and recordings. She was also recorded by Alan Lomax and Séamus Ennis. Her grandson Michael Harrison, also a fiddle-player who in 2005 won the All-Ireland title that his grandmother had won 51 years before, brought a number of reel-to-reel recordings to the Irish Traditional Music Archive who digitised them. Harrison has now released an album containing over 50 tracks of the East Galway fiddle-player as well as a sixteen-page booklet with personal memories from Máirtín O’Connor, Joe Burke and Séamus Connolly. A skilful musician, Whyte’s repertoire ranges from core traditional tunes to pieces by Ed Reavey, Seán Ryan and several by Fr PJ Kelly. Available to purchase on CD from Bandcamp. Visit

Emma Langford – At Seventeen
Indie-folk singer songwriter Emma Langford has just released a cover of American singer Janis Ian’s song ‘At Seventeen’. The song was released in 1975 by Ian, and was written about feelings of alienation when growing up, centering on her experiences of adolescence between the ages of 12 and 14. Langford was given permission by Ian to cover and release the track, which was one of two tracks arranged and recorded by Langford for RTÉ Radio 1  show Sunday With Miriam. Purchase ‘At Seventeen’ on Bandcamp:

Wyvern Lingo – Only Love Only Light
Following a series of single releases last year, including ‘Don’t Say It’ and ‘Things Fall Apart’, indie-pop band Wyvern Lingo have just released a new track, ‘Only Love Only Light’ on Rubyworks, ahead of the release of their upcoming album Awake You Lie on 26 February. Commenting on the song, Caoimhe Barry of the band, said: ‘”Only Love Only Light” is about that kind of feedback loop of self-love versus self-loathing. I wrote it when I was going through a particularly dark phase of hating my face, while simultaneously cringing at myself for caring so much about it.’ Visit

Jane O’Leary, Peter Dickson Lopez, Corrina Bonshek – Relive (Live)
Relive from Navona Records is an album of three live works for orchestra and large ensemble by Irish composer Jane O’Leary, US composer Peter Dickson Lopez, and Australian composer Corrina Bonshek. O’Leary’s contribution is From Sea-Grey Shores, commissioned by RTÉ for the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and premiered in 1999. From Sea-Grey Shores was subsequently included on the orchestra’s tour of the US in 2003. The music is a response to the landscape of the west of Ireland and the movements of the sea along the coast. This performance is conducted by Gavin Maloney. The Ship of Death (1977) by Dickson Lopez is a dramatic work for male voice (Thomas Buckner) and chamber orchestra (Arch Ensemble for Experimental Music), based upon a poem by D. H. Lawrence. Lopez says he began the composition from an understanding of the poem as a vision of the promise, challenge and reality of rebirth and resurrection. The work is a multi-sectional work composed in a single movement. Dreams of the Earth (2018) by Bonshek is a concert reworking of a large-scale installation for string orchestra and percussion called Song to the Earth. Inspired by the sight of a swirling flock of birds in the sky, the rising/falling swells of cicada song in summer, and ecological concerns about our changing climate, the work is performed by the Ady Ensemble under conductor Adrian Head. Visit

Fiachna Ó Braonáin – Amhrán na Trá Báine / Take a Look Around With You
Guitarist and vocalist with Hothouse Flowers, Fiachna Ó Braonáin’s new double A side release ‘Amhrán na Trá Báine / Take a Look Around With You’, taken from his EP Winter Sun, is out now. The first track, ‘Amhrán na Trá Báine’ is a sean-nós song Ó Braonáin learned from recordings of his great uncle Vail Ó Flaithearta. For this version, Ó Braonáin collaborated with South African drummer and percussionist Barry Van Zyl and producer and composer Robin Hogarth, also working with the Gugulethu Community Choir, blending the sounds of sean-nós with South African voices and rhythms. The song also features Inni-K on fiddle and uilleann piper Eoin Dillon from Kíla. ‘Take a Look Around You’ was written by Ó Braonáin during a trip to Normandy when he lived in Paris and features fiddle player Clare Sands. Purchase the track on Bandcamp:

Why Axis – Raincoat
Dublin-based artist Why Axis creates music that blends the genres of hip-hop, pop, indie and electronics. After releasing his fourth EP Moody F*ck last year, his new single ‘Raincoat’ is out now. The upbeat track, which is self-produced, including backing track, vocals and instrumentation, is about leaving things in the past and moving forward. Visit:

To submit your music for inclusion, visit:

Published on 5 February 2021

comments powered by Disqus