Patrick Rafter and Fiachra Garvey, 10 String Symphony, and a New Cello Quartet for Music Network Series

10 String Symphony

Patrick Rafter and Fiachra Garvey, 10 String Symphony, and a New Cello Quartet for Music Network Series

Digital concerts series to be presented in partnership with fourteen venues.

Music Network has announced a new programme of digital concerts to take place this May, June and July.

There are three series of concerts taking place, featuring a new cello quartet with William Butt, Rosalie Curlett, Martin Johnson and Ailbhe McDonagh, the Americana duo 10 String Symphony, and violinist Patrick Rafter and pianist Fiachra Garvey. The performances will each be presented on Music Network’s channel as well as on a range of online platforms in partnership with fourteen Irish venues. 

New commissions and Americana
The cello quartet will begin the series with a concert broadcast between 12 and 21 May and a programme featuring a Music Network commission by composer Conor Linehan as well as works by Bach, Beethoven and Bartók. They will also perform Mozart’s  Ave Verum Corpus, Barrière’s Sonata in G Major, Debussy’s Clair de Lune and Gershwin’s Summertime. The performances are in collaboration with Waterford Music, the Courthouse Arts Centre, Riverbank Arts Centre, St John’s Theatre and Arts Centre, Linenhall Arts Centre and Glór. 

The second series will see Music Network present Americana duo 10 String Symphony (Christian Sedelmyer and Rachel Baiman) – a group named after their use of two five-string fiddles alternating with a five-string banjo – between 26 May and 11 June. The pair, who were originally meant to tour Ireland in 2020, will present a concert in collaboration with the Dock in Carrick-on-Shannon  on 27 May, followed by  the Courthouse Arts Centre (28 May), Siamsa Tíre  (29 May), Belltable (2 June), Garter Lane (4 June), Glór (5 June), the National Opera House (9 June), Riverbank Arts Centre (10 June) and Ionad Cultúrtha (11 June), as well as a Music Network-hosted concert on 26 May. 

Finally, violinist Patrick Rafter and pianist Fiachra Garvey’s concert will be presented between 16 June and 1 July and features To Turn in Circles, a new Music Network commission by composer Emma O’Halloran. The pair will also perform Franck’s Sonata in A major, Ysaÿe’s Poème élégiaque and Fauré’s Après un Rêve. Rafter and Garvey’s concert will be presented online by Music Network (16 June) and followed by Waterford Music (17 June), Ionad Cultúrtha (18 June), Riverbank Arts Centre (20 June), National Opera House (23 June), Music in Kilkenny (27 June), Linenhall Arts Centre (30 June) and Siamsa Tíre (1 July). 

Audiences can also enjoy interviews with the musicians hosted by Music Network’s CEO Sharon Rollston. Composers Conor Linehan and Emma O’Halloran will introduce their new works with short composer insight sessions.

All concerts cost €10. For full details and booking, visit

Published on 27 April 2021

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link